Extension:UserMerge

Other languages:
Deutsch • ‎English • ‎Türkçe • ‎español • ‎français • ‎português • ‎português do Brasil • ‎русский • ‎中文 • ‎日本語 • ‎한국어
MediaWiki extensions manual
OOjs UI icon advanced.svg
UserMerge
Release status: stable
UserMergeScreenshot.png
Implementation Special page , User identity
Description Merges references from one user to another user in the Wiki database - can also delete old users following merge
Author(s)
Latest version 1.10.1 (2020-09-19)
Compatibility policy master
MediaWiki 1.35+
PHP 7.0+
Database changes No
License GNU General Public License 2.0 or later
Download
$wgUserMergeProtectedGroups
usermerge
Translate the UserMerge extension if it is available at translatewiki.net
Check usage and version matrix.
Vagrant role usermerge
Issues Open tasks · Report a bug

The UserMerge extension allows wiki users with the usermerge permission (Bureaucrat by default) to merge one Wiki user's account with another Wiki user's account.

Features
  • merge (refer contributions, texts, watchlists, edit count of a first account A to a second account B)
  • delete the first account A after the merge (option box)
Limitations
  • you cannot delete a user A without having merged the user A to B
  • you cannot merge your own account (logged-in user) into a different user
Notes
  • if you omit the "New User" field, then the extension auto-populates the New User as "Anonymous" (user_id 0), and ask you to confirm a merge to Anonymous. This is used for user deletion: you first empty (merge to user 0) contributions of a user A, and then delete the user A.
    • If your version of the extension complains about an empty "New User" field you can fill in  "Anonymous"
  • the extension creates a User Merge log and logs all User Merge extension activity.

InstallationEdit

  • If using Vagrant , install with vagrant roles enable usermerge --provision
Manual installation
  • Download and place the file(s) in a directory called UserMerge in your extensions/ folder.
  • Add the following code at the bottom of your LocalSettings.php:
    wfLoadExtension( 'UserMerge' );
    // By default nobody can use this function, enable for bureaucrat?
    $wgGroupPermissions['bureaucrat']['usermerge'] = true;
    
    // optional: default is array( 'sysop' )
    $wgUserMergeProtectedGroups = [ 'groupname' ];
    
  •   Done – Navigate to Special:Version on your wiki to verify that the extension is successfully installed.

UsageEdit

  • follow Installation Instructions
  • a new Special Page Special:UserMerge with the title Merge and Delete Users is created
  • unmergeable users can be defined (examples):
# Allow all users to be merged (by default, the 'sysop' group is unmergeable)
$wgUserMergeProtectedGroups = [];

# Disallow merging of the users in the 'sysop' or 'awesomeusers' groups
$wgUserMergeProtectedGroups = [ 'sysop', 'awesomeusers' ];

You can use Help:RevisionDelete feature of MediaWiki to replace the UserMerge logs information with neutral information.

Active RevisionDelete in "LocalSettings.php" file with :

$wgGroupPermissions['sysop']['deletelogentry'] = true;
$wgGroupPermissions['sysop']['deleterevision'] = true;

Then, from Special:Log/usermerge, you can check and disable the logs content resulting from modifications made by UserMerge with simple check box.

A better approach would be to use the "CleanMediawiki.sh" script for delete massive spam user and all logs.

See alsoEdit