|Note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution under the CC0. See Public Domain Help Pages for more info.
All groups of user rights mentioned on this document are the ones defines on MediaWiki.org.
However, configuration varies by wiki, so consult Special:ListGroupRights on the wiki you're interested in.
Concerning posts and topics
Posts and topics can be moderated in three different ways: hide, delete and suppress.
Some users can also edit or rename a Topic or a board, or mark a topic as resolved.
The following sections mention "posts", but everything also applies to topics.
It is not possible to carry out these actions when a topic has been "Marked as resolved". You have to reopen it first.
You can edit your own posts. Autoconfirmed users can edit Structured Discussions posts by other users.
By default, any user can hide a post; it uses the
A hidden post is replaced by a warning message. You can read the hidden post by clicking on the history link on the warning message. You will then access to the history page, where the message is struck through.
Anyone can unhide a post on the history page. If a post is unhidden, it becomes visible by anyone.
Mark as resolved
By default, any logged in user can mark a topic as resolved, or reopen it (making it no longer resolved).
This prevents further posts to the topic.
This uses the
By default, users in the sysop group can delete posts.
When it is done, the post is deleted. Sysops can restore the post on the History page.
This uses the
Hidden topics that haven't been replied can be successfully deleted using
When it is done, the post is oversighted. Oversighters can restore the post on the History page.
This uses the
Renaming a topic will only change the topic title. It will not move the page from the board.
A user can rename a board if they have the right to create a Structured Discussions board at the destination name.
For example, if the destination is a Structured Discussions namespace, any user can move the board to there.
If a user has the "Create Structured Discussions boards in any location" (
flow-create-board) right, they can create a page working on Structured Discussions in any location; that means they can move a Structured Discussions board to any location.
flow-bot has this right.
However, wikis can give it to additional users.
Delete and restore
Deleting a board requires the same privileges as deleting any page. When you delete a board, all topics linked to this board are inaccessible to all users, except sysops (like any deleted page). When you restore a board, all topics are visible again.
Protection and blocking
Like all pages on a wiki, it is possible to semi-protect or protect a Structured Discussions board. Blocks are also handled normally. If you block a user without selecting the "Editing their own talk page" option, that user will still be able to create new topics on their personal talk page.
Move and redirect
It is not possible at the moment to move a Structured Discussions board, please request it.
It is not possible at the moment to create a redirection from a Structured Discussions board.
However, you can workaround this issue. Assume you want to redirect
Talk:Sourceexists, move it to an archive page
Talk:Source/Archive(or a suitable archive location).
- Create the redirect in a wikiktext namespace, as normal, e.g. at
You can add categories:
- for a Board, in the board description,
- for a Topic, in the Summary.
Categories will work like on any other page. They will be displayed at the bottom of the Description sidebar.