Open main menu

Manual:Huggle/Main toolbar

Other languages:
Note

  The manual is a work in progress. Please add to it with complete, tested instructions wherever you can.  

Images in the manual may differ from what you see in your version of Huggle.

Huggle 3 Main toolbar

  • Revert and warn: Most of the time, a user warning should be provided along with the revert. The "Revert and warn" button will do this; if the revert is successful, Huggle will check the user's talk page for existing warnings and issue one with an appropriate level. The default warning is a vandalism message; to select others open the menu using the dropdown arrow to the right of the icon. To use a 4im (first and last warning for vandalism) template, select advanced on the dropdown menu, and select "Level 4(final)". If the user already has a final warning, Huggle will automatically issue a vandalism report. (If you are an administrator, you will instead be asked if you wish to block the user).
    • Consecutive instances of vandalism by multiple users must be dealt with by manually finding the last good revision of the page. To move back in the page history, click the Previous revision button; to move forward, click Next revision and to move back to the most recent revision, click Last revision. You can also navigate by clicking in the history display at the upper right of Huggle's main window. It is not necessary to do this if all vandalism is the work of a single user.
  • Next edit: If the revision edit displayed is not vandalism, click this button to ignore it and advance to the next one. If the button is gray and there are no more revisions in the queue, either your connection dropped, or not much editing is being done and you have checked everything; wait a while for more revisions to appear.
  • Revert will do just that. Reversions behave in one of two ways:
    • If the revision being viewed is the most recent one, the revert button will rollback the page. This reverts all consecutive contributions by the last editor to the page.
    • If an older revision is being viewed, the revert button will revert to whichever edit is on the left of the diff display.
    • By default, an automatically-generated summary will be used. To select a more specific edit summary, open the menu using the dropdown arrow to the right of the icon. Select one of the pre-configured summaries or select "Advanced..." and type one in. The list of summaries can be customized; see the configuration section.
  • Send template message acts on the revision on the right side of the diff currently being viewed. Select an item from the list to leave the appropriate template message, or "Other message..." to say something else. The list of messages can be customized; see the configuration section.
  • Warn acts on the revision on the right side of the diff currently being viewed; it will check the user's talk page and issue an appropriate warning or vandalism report. While Huggle will issue warnings automatically when appropriate, this function can be used to deal with vandalism by multiple users, in succession, to the same page – locate the last good revision and revert to it, then navigate to an instance of vandalism from each user and issue a warning.
  • Cancel all Huggle edits and other actions currently in progress. Edits that have been submitted but not yet saved are undone once they have saved. Edits which have already been saved must be reversed with the Undo button.
  • Undo allows various of your own actions to be reversed, and is not the same as Wikipedia's undo function. Undo can only be used to reverse your edit if the edit is still the most recent edit if the page; for other cases, it is necessary to navigate to the particular page revision and use the "Revert" function.
  • Ignore user: If many edits by the same user appear and it is clear that the user is contributing constructively, this button will cause all subsequent contributions by that user to be ignored. Huggle will identify and ignore some users itself. Registered users are added to the whitelist, and always ignored; anonymous users are ignored only for that session.