Manual:deleteArchivedRevisions.php

MediaWiki version:
1.11

DetailsEdit

deleteArchivedRevisions.php file is a maintenance script to delete all the archived (hidden from public view) revisions, by clearing out the archive table. These revisions will no longer be restorable. Deleted pages and archived revisions to a given page are permanently deleted, but the complete history of existing pages will remain.

When a page is 'deleted' by an administrator (Help:Deletion and undeletion ), records are moved from the 'revision' table to the 'archive' table, although the bulk of the data (page text) remains in the 'text' table. The script deletes all records from the archive table and then invokes purgeOldText.php to purge the text records which no revision links to. This can be useful for reducing the size of the database but it does mean you lose the ability to restore the according revisions.

Prior to MediaWiki 1.16, a helper file deleteArchivedRevisions.inc contained the class that performs the work. This class was merged into deleteArchivedRevisions.php in 1.16.

  Warning: This script attempts to remove unused entries from the text table, which can cause potential data loss.

Options/ArgumentsEdit

Option Description Required?
--delete Does the deletion (otherwise only displays the number of revisions to delete). Optional

UsageEdit

php maintenance/deleteArchivedRevisions.php [ --delete ]

Checking potential deletionEdit

Terminal
$ php maintenance/deleteArchivedRevisions.php

Found 7 revisions to delete.
Please run the script again with the --delete option to really delete the revisions.

Making actual deletionEdit

Terminal
$ php maintenance/deleteArchivedRevisions.php --delete

Deleting archived revisions...done. 7 revisions deleted.

See alsoEdit