发布已完成翻译的过程。 当您发布翻译时，会使用您翻译的内容创建一个新页面。 新页面是一个对编辑社区可见的常规wiki页面，它将随着您和其他编辑的进一步贡献而独立发展。
发布是一个重要的决策点。 您正在创建页面的初始版本，将由编辑社区进行审核。 如果您不确定初始内容是否符合wiki的质量标准，您可以考虑在发布前调整发布选项。 Among the publish destinations you'll find options to publish your translation as a draft page where other editors can help you improve the content.
Wiki content is organized in different namespaces where pages and sub-pages live depending on their purpose. While a Wikipedia article lives in the main namespace and is subject to Wikipedia quality standards, it is ok for users to include personal information such as the name of their pet in their user pages under the user namespace.
Content translation publishes content to the main namespace by default, but other options are available through the publish settings menu:
- New page. Contents will be published as a new page in the main namespace. If the page already exists, contents of the existing page will be overwritten (more on this below). Content that does not meet the quality standards for the wiki will be reverted by other editors. So make it sure that your translation is well written, reads naturally in the target language and includes references for users to verify the origin of the claims in the content.
- Personal draft. A page will be published under your user namespace. While it is still visible for everyone, it is published in a place where you are free to create unfinished content. In this way you can iterate to improve the content without rush or ask for help. Once you are happy with your draft, you can transfer these contents by copying them to a new or existing page. The user namespace is also useful as an intermediary page where publish a translation that you want to manually combine with the contents of an existing article (more on this below).
- Community draft. On wikis where the draft namespace is available, you can publish your translation there. Pages published in the draft namespaces are considered as proposals for page creation that need further work before being moved to the main namespace. While the user namespace is a generic space for all kinds of user content, the draft namespace is specially created for this kind of drafts.
You can also select the desired namespace by including it as a prefix in the title of the translation. This allows to select additional namespaces to those provided as options in the previous menu, but it also may be prone to typos.
Considerations on content quality
Publishing a translation is subject to the same quality standards as creating a new page on the wiki from scratch. Content translation makes it easy to reuse the effort for another community and create a much more elaborate first version of your page, but you are ultimate responsible to review the translation contents, improve them and decide when it is ready to publish. Some considerations:
- Pay attention to the warnings. Content translation surfaces different warnings during the translation process to surface possible problems. Please consider these messages carefully to improve your content before publishing it, to make sure it is not deleted by the community. Pay special attention to review the initial automatic translation when available since low-quality translations are often deleted by reviewers.
- Review the published result. After publishing your translation, it is recommended to read the resulting page to apply further improvements you may have missed before.
Published articles include an edit tag that allows the community to review them. The resulting article is also linked automatically with other versions in other languages through Wikibase to facilitate the navigation.
Working with existing articles
The main focus of Content translation is to create an initial version of a missing article. However it is possible to use the tool to either expand an existing article that may or may not have been started as a translation.
Overwrite existing content
When trying to publish an article that already exists, the user will be asked for confirmation. You need to be very careful when replacing existing content. This is only recommended when you are sure that the translated version is much superior to the existing article and no valuable contribution will be lost by replacing the content. For example, if the article just consists of a one-line sentence with no references that is already covered in the translation, it would be safe to overwrite.
In case you want to extend an existing article which already contains relevant content, you can start a translation and translate only the parts you want to incorporate to the exiting article. Then, you can publish the result under your user namespace, and copy the result into the original article manually. That is, opening both of them in edit mode and copying content from one to the other.
Continue translations already published
Once you have published a translation as a wiki page it is still possible to continue working with the translation. You can access the "Published" view from the translation dashboard and click the pencil button to continue your work. However, you need to consider that the translation will not incorporate any changes that were done after the translation is published.
It is possible to publish a translation, continue translating and publish it again overwriting the previous publication. However, this has the risk (especially on high-traffic wikis) of overwriting contributions that were made to the published page by other editors. So be very careful, and check the history tab after re-publishing a translation if you ever do that.