Open main menu

Extension:UserAgreement

IntroductionEdit

UserAgreement adds the ability for administrators to specify a user agreement message and have it rendered to users for acknowledgement before granting access to a wiki's contents. This only applies to users who are logged in.

Users who have not yet acknowledged the current version of the user agreement will be presented with the agreement upon visiting any wiki page and will be unable to view any wiki content until they've acknowledged the user agreement. Users need only acknowledge the current version of the user agreement once to gain access to a wiki's content.

UserAgreement does not depend upon any other extension.

InstallationEdit

  • Download and place the file(s) in a directory called UserAgreement in your extensions/ folder.
  • Add the following code at the bottom of your LocalSettings.php:
    wfLoadExtension( 'UserAgreement' );
    
  • Run the update script which will automatically create the necessary database tables that this extension needs.
  •   Done – Navigate to Special:Version on your wiki to verify that the extension is successfully installed.

UsageEdit

To specify a user agreement message for users to acknowledge, simply edit the page Mediawiki:Useragreement (watch your capitalization) to contain exactly the message you would like presented to users in wikitext format. Each time the Mediawiki:Useragreement page is updated, all users will be required to acknowledge the updated user agreement before being able to continue accessing the wiki's content.

By default, the user agreement message is left blank and thus, no message is presented to users and they are not required to acknowledge anything before viewing a wiki's content.

Implementation DetailsEdit

UserAgreement adds a new database table called useragreement with columns ua_user and ua_user_accepted_timestamp. This table is used to record the timestamps corresponding to the last time each user acknowledged some version of the user agreement.

The logic governing user agreement display is simple. If a user's ua_user_accepted_timestamp value is greater than the revision timestamp of the Mediawiki:Useragreement page's current revision (meaning the user accepted some version of the user agreement after the current version of the agreement was last edited), then that user is not required to view and acknowledge the current version of the user agreement before accessing the wiki's content. Otherwise, the user will be presented with the current version of the user agreement upon visiting any wiki page and will not be granted access to any of the wiki's content until they have acknowledged the current version of the user agreement, which will then update the ua_user_accepted_timestamp column for that user.

Version HistoryEdit

Version 1.0.1
  • Added documentation url link on Special:Version page.
Version 1.0.0
  • Initial version