Wikimedia Technical Committee/Minutes/2020-09-09

The TechCom planning meeting is a weekly invite-only video discussion, generally held on Wednesday 13:00 USA Pacific Time.
See also TechCom-RFC workboard in Phabricator. (Private minutes)

The minutes from TechCom's triage meeting on 2020-09-09.

Present: Daniel K, Dan A, Tim S, Timo T, Kate C

Liberate the @ for AtEaseEdit

  • https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T253461
  • Checking in about next steps.
  • As a coding convention, it doesn’t need our involvement unless there’s a conflict, strategic impact, etc. Talk page?
  • TT: Will reach out on the talk page as well.

RFC: Parsoid Extension APIEdit

  • https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T260714
  • TT: Concerning that the RFC was filed this late, but are not meaningful comments and thinking about last call. Believe this is more perception than an actual problem. The engagement hasn’t been captured on the task very well. This is an initial attempt to be used for WMF maintained extensions when get closer to this parser as the default will be more changes. Different from usual processes, how do we accommodate that?
  • DK: Establish a baseline, then will file another RFC later. Need to clearly mark as unstable.

RFC: PHP microservice for containerized shell executionEdit

Next week IRC office hoursEdit

RFC review meeting scheduled for next week: RFC: Containerized shell execution service https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T260330.

Meeting at 2020-09-10 21:00 UTC (14:00 PT, 23:00 CEST) on Freenode in the #wikimedia-office channel.