Wikimedia Research/Office hours

The Research team at Wikimedia Foundation holds office hours on the first Tuesday of each month (see below for exact date and time), which you can join via video call.

The aim is to make ourselves more available to answer some of the research questions that you as Wikimedia volunteers, affiliates, staff, and researchers face in your projects and initiatives, and to connect, share, and learn from each other.

Come and talk to us about anything related to Wiki-research, bring your questions and ideas to discuss projects, data, analysis, etc; for example:

  • You want to learn more about our team and our projects
  • You would like to share some research project or idea and would like to get feedback or support during office hours
  • You have questions about how to use specific datasets


After initiating the office hours in January 2020, the current format using video-call is an experiment in order to facilitate more direct interaction. We would be glad to hear your feedback and/or comments on the talk-page.

How it worksEdit

Our office hours are held (usually) on the first Tuesday of each month and last 1 hour.

You can join the videochat via this meeting link: https://meet.jit.si/WMF-Research-Office-Hours

  • We will have at least 2 members from the Research team be present at each office hour for discussion

We will collect your topics to discuss in this etherpad: https://etherpad.wikimedia.org/p/Research-Analytics-Office-hours

  • If you have a specific item you would like to discuss or bring up, simply add it (together with your name)

During the office hour:

  • We will take the first few minutes for introduction and organizing the agenda for the office hour
  • We then try to discuss each of the items on the agenda
    • Presentation of item/topic
    • Questions/comments according to the queue in the chat:
      • type o/ to raise your hand
      • type o// for direct response (use sparingly)
      • type o_ to lower your hand

Upcoming office hoursEdit

  • Date: Tuesday, December 07, 2021
  • Time: 24:00-1:00 UTC (4:00-5:00 PM PT (December 7) // 7:00-8:00 PM ET (December 7) // 1:00-2:00 AM CET (December 8))

Meeting link: https://meet.jit.si/WMF-Research-Office-Hours

Add items to the agenda in the etherpad: https://etherpad.wikimedia.org/p/Research-Analytics-Office-hours

Additional informationEdit

Announcements will be made over the following places, so subscribe to them if you want to receive the latest updates:

For specific questions related to Wikidata, see also the online office hours over at Wikidata

If you have further questions, comments, or suggestions, please leave a comment on the talk-page or reach out to User:MGerlach_(WMF).

Past eventsEdit

  • Tuesday, November 02, 2021, 12.00-13.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, October 05, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, September 07, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, August 03, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, July 13, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, June 01, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, May 04, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, March 16, 2021, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, February 02, 2021, 17.00-18.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, January 05, 2021, 17.00-18.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, December 01, 2020, 17.00-18.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, November 03, 2020, 17.00-18.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, October 13, 2020, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Tuesday, September 01, 2020, 16.00-17.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, June 24, 2020, 9.00-10.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, May 27, 2020, 18.00-19.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, April 29, 2020, 18.00-19.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, March 25, 2020, 1700-18.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, February 26, 2020, 1700-18.00 (UTC)
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020, 1700-18.00 (UTC)