Reading/Mexico Readers Research/Participants/P7


P7, MagalyEdit

  • Age: 27 years
  • Location: Puebla, Mexico
  • Gender: F
  • Occupation: accountant
  • Education:
  • Internet access: data plan with Telcel; Telmex home wifi (says it's fiber?)
  • Technical comfort: 2-3
          

Day in the LifeEdit

Work & educationEdit

Magaly wakes up every day and cares for her two children, a 3 year old boy and a 1 year old girl. During the week, she drops the boy at day care and the girl stays with a nanny during the day, when she goes to work at the accounting company she and her husband have. She also takes business classes on Saturdays. In the afternoon, she comes home to do homework, take the kids to classes, and spend time with her family.

AspirationsEdit

In 5 years, Magaly wants to have completed her studies, added another location to the accounting business, and have a party business of her own.

HomeEdit

Magaly lives with her husband and their 2 children in a gated community.

LearningEdit

Magaly described herself as primarily learning about parenting and cooking. Generally, she asks her immediate circle (family and friends) when she has questions before searching online. When searching online, she uses Google and clicks on the first result. If the page is not simple to read, she goes back to Google and works her way down the results list.

She uses Facebook for news and articles, as well as to interact with groups for moms.

LanguagesEdit

Magaly primarily speaks Spanish. She speaks English sometimes at her yoga class, where there are students from all over the world.

Editing & Wikipedia perceptionEdit

Magaly thinks that Wikipedia is a search engine where you can find everything. She likes the collapsed sections on the mobile web, and is aware of the app but doesn't use it/think it's necessary. She likes the idea of a "nearby" feature.

Her teachers in school told her that the content on Wikipedia is not trustworthy, but she trusts it. She believes you can make your own biography on Wikipedia. She has not edited.

Online shopping & donationsEdit

Magaly has shopped online a few times. She is comfortable making small purchases online, but not larger orders because she doesn't trust that what she sees online is what she will receive. She uses her husband's credit card for online purchases.

She has never donated to a non-profit.

DevicesEdit

iPhone 6 (to be confirmed from video)

iPad, shared with kids for games and video

Macbook Air, which she takes to school and work